help with aeon labs multi -sensor

Developer
Dec 3, 2012 at 5:50 AM

I have downloaded the latest code, and tried running the example console app 

which does correctly discover my aeon labs multi - sensor, .  

When I press the wake up key on the sensor,  a wake up event is correctly scene 

by my controller.  

however,  no motion is being detected.  

The spec for the sensor says that I must associate a device with the sensor in order for it to send the motion event.  

I am brand new to zwave and am having some difficulty understanding how to associate my controller ( aeon labs usb sticK),  to the sensor,  or vice versa.  

I basically just want the controller to get the event and let  my software will handle what to do from there .

Has anyone been able to configure one of these sensors to work?,  any and all help appreciated as I am a bit lost ...

thanks ,

Nick P.

Coordinator
Dec 3, 2012 at 6:57 AM

Hi Nick

I have not had that specific sensor working, but something similar. The association classes are currently not implemented in the ZWaveAPI .NET, I know that OpenZWave has implemented the association class, and I would suggest taking hints from them. This is a big missing point for ZWaveAPI.NET, and would be a very valued contribution.

As far as the process goes what you need to do:

Set the controller (ZWaveAPI.Net) in association mode (I am personally not a fan of auto association, so I would suggest this to be a mode of some sorts). Then for all detected units connected while in association mode, send the association command.

For a C++ implementation OpenZWave are doing it like this:

http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/source/browse/trunk/cpp/src/command_classes/Association.cpp

Regards

Peter

Developer
Dec 3, 2012 at 5:18 PM

Thanks so much Peter,  I believe that is the info I have been searching for. 

If I get working,  I'll let you know ,  and try to push any applicable contributions up...(if they are worthy.). 

thanks,  

Nick P.